Worried that you'll miss something important in the current meeting while you are in a SideSpeak session? Got that covered...
After you close your SideSpeak session you can scroll back to any part of the live meeting, just like you do with your TV's DVR, so you won't miss anything.
At anytime using the DVR control, just click the 'Live' button to bring you back to the live meeting.

Close-up of a blue DVR button and a red live streaming button.
Similar to the telephone 'hold' button, this new feature allows you to place one or more participants on hold where they cannot see or hear the rest of the groups conversation.
Use Case: Your remote team is interviewing a potential employee who has joined your online meeting. During the interview you need to discuss a topic without the candidate involved. Using this "On Hold" feature allows you to continue the conversation without the candidate hearing or seeing the rest of your team. Once finished with the private conversation, take the candidate "Off Hold" and continue the meeting with all participants active.
Options for "On Hold" participants while they wait to rejoin the meeting include:



No. There is no download or plug-in to join or host a SideSpeak session.
Yes. Run the following link to test your connectivity and compatibility with the SideSpeak app: https://test.webrtc.org/
Yes. SideSpeak uses the latest security including DTLS-SRTP and End-to-End Encryption.
If you are using the Personal edition of SideSpeak, simply navigate to https://sidespeak.herokuapp.com/ and follow the onscreen prompts. If you are using any other SideSpeak edition, contact us to review your login credentials.
The host/organizer will send you a link to join an existing SideSpeak session. Click the link and follow the onscreen prompts to 1) 'Allow' SideSpeak to use your video and audio 2) enter your name then click 'Join the Meeting'.
1. Make sure you "Allow" SideSpeak permission to access your microphone and camera.
2. Make sure your speaker on your device is not muted.
3. Make sure your SideSpeak session is not muted. Check the toolbar at the bottom, center of your SideSpeak screen for the audio icon and confirm it is not muted.
If these steps do not fix the problem, try refreshing the web page.
Another solution is to use the 'Dial In' option under the top right menu.
1. Make sure you "Allow" SideSpeak permission to access your microphone and camera.
2. Make sure your camera on your device is functioning properly.
3. Make sure your SideSpeak camera is not toggled off. Check the toolbar at the bottom, center of your SideSpeak screen for the video icon and confirm it is not off.
If these steps do not fix the problem, try refreshing the web page.
Once you and your guest are actively in the main SideSpeak session, click the 'Share your screen' icon located on the toolbar at the bottom center of the meeting window. Select the screen or application to share and click the 'Share' button. By default your camera will turn off so your guests will only see what's on your screen. Tip: You can navigate back to the main SideSpeak session and click the 'Start/Stop' camera to add a thumbnail video of you in the bottom of your shared screen.
Once you are finished sharing your screen, click the 'Stop Sharing' button.
Copyright © 2026 SideSpeak - All Rights Reserved.
www.sidespeak.com